nhs logo coloured transparent background.png
Home > Admission & Outreach > Outreach > International Student Science Fair 2016 > Keynote Speakers

Keynote Speakers

An import aspect of any science fair is to have distinguished researchers who are happy to inspire the budding scientists who attend the fair. Here are the list of confirmed Keynote speakers :

Professor Erwin Neher
Max-Planck-Institute for Biophysical Chemistry

Erwin Neher has been Director of the Membrane Biophysics Department at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Goettingen, Germany from 1983 to 2011. He received his Ph.D. in Physics from the Institute of Technology in Munich and did postdoctoral research in the Physiology Department at Yale University. In 1989 he spent a sabbatical at the California Institute of Technology. His research interests have focused on studies of ion channels and neuronal signaling. More recently he concentrated on mechanisms of hormone- as well as neurotransmitter-release and synaptic plasticity. For his development of the patch clamp technique for recording of ion channel activity he received the 1991 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (together with Bert Sakmann). He is a member, or foreign member, of several national and international academies, among them the National Academy of Sciences (USA), and the Royal Society, London. In 2005 he was awarded the title ‘Einstein Professor’ by the Chinese Academy of Sciences. Professor Neher will deliver a keynote address on the morning of 24 May, 2016.

Prof Neher will deliver a keynote address on the morning of 24 May, 2016.

Professor Eva-Maria Neher
Göttingen Xlab

Dr. Eva-Maria Neher was a researcher in the fields of biochemistry and microbiology. She founded the Göttingen Xlab and has been its Executive Director since 2000. She is the recipient of many awards including the Federal Cross of Merit First Class.

XLAB is an experimental laboratory for young people and bridges the gap between university and high school. The laboratory and has inspired many aspiring young scientists with its experiments on the natural sciences. Every year about 12,000 students participate in  XLAB  courses, and more than 20% are from abroad.

Watch out for Dr. Neher’s talk on the morning of Wednesday, 25 May!

Professor Sow Chorng Haur
Department of Physics
National University of Singapore

Sow Chorng Haur received a B.Sc Degree (1 st Class) in Physics from the National University of Singapore (NUS) in 1991.

After spending two more years in NUS for research, he received a M.Sc. degree in Physics. He then went on to the University of Chicago and completed his PhD degree in 1998. During the period in 1999-2000, he worked as a postdoctoral fellow at Bell Laboratory, Lucent Technologies. He returned and joined the Department of Physics, NUS in 2001. He has authored and co-authored many papers in the field of nanoscience and nanomaterials. Being a great teacher and mentor, he has won numerous teaching awards at NUS.

His keynote lecture will be on the morning of Thursday, 26 May! 

Associate Professor Tan Choon Hong
Division of Chemistry and Biological Chemistry
Nanyang Technological University

Choon Hong was born in May 1971 in Singapore. He received his BSc(Hons) First Class from the National University of Singapore (NUS) in 1995 and also topped his class that year. He obtained financial support from Trinity College (Cambridge), the Cambridge Commonwealth Trust and Tan Kah Kee Postgraduate Scholarship to pursue his PhD and he graduated from the University of Cambridge in 1999. Following that, he carried out two years postdoctoral training at the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University. Subsequently, he worked as a Research Associate at Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, Harvard Medical School for another year before joined the Department of Chemistry, National University of Singapore as Assistant Professor in 2003. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 2010. He moved to Nanyang Technological University in 2002.

His keynote lecture will be on the morning of Thursday, 26 May!